2023 Women’s World Cup: Round of 16 Teams, Knockout Bracket, Match Schedule, Fixtures, and Process Explained

Posted by

The 2023 Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand is on the cusp of the Round of 16.

The 32 qualified national teams participating in the group stage will be trimmed down to 16 for the next phase of the tournament as the battle for glory begins to intensify for those still in the running.

The entire bracket is already predetermined by FIFA ahead of the tournament with only the slots needed to be filled in by the final group stage finishes. From the Round of 16 onwards there will be no second chances, as the tournament becomes a straight knockout battle — win or go home.

The Sporting News lays out all you need to know about the Round of 16.

MORE: FIFA Women’s World Cup schedule, tables, and match times 2023

Women's World Cup 2023 bracket Round of 16 on July 31, 2023

Women’s World Cup group tables, standings 2023

Seven teams have already qualified for the Round of 16 and eight teams have been mathematically eliminated as of Monday, July 31. 

Updated as of Monday, July 31 (Q=Qualified, E=Eliminated)

Group A 1. Switzerland-Q 2. Norway-Q 3. New Zealand-E 4. Philippines-E
Group B 1. Australia-Q 2. Nigeria-Q 3. Canada-E 4. Rep. of Ireland-E
Group C 1. Japan-Q 2. Spain-Q 3. Zambia-E 4. Costa Rica-E
Group D 1. England 2. Denmark 3. China 4. Haiti
Group E 1. USA 2. Netherlands 3. Portugal 4. Vietnam-E
Group F 1. France 2. Jamaica 3. Brazil 4. Panama-E
Group G 1. Sweden-Q 2. Italy 3. South Africa 4. Argentina
Group H 1. Colombia 2. Germany 3. Morocco 4. South Korea

MORE: When is the next Women’s World Cup in 2027?

Women’s World Cup Round of 16 fixtures

The matchups in the Round of 16 are predetermined and the bracket is updated as each team clinches first or second place in their respective groups.

World Cup Round of 16

Date Match Time (Local / ET / GMT) City
Sat, Aug. 5 Switzerland (1A) vs.
Spain (2C)
 5 p.m. / 1 a.m. / 6 a.m. Auckland (NZL)
Sat, Aug. 5 Japan (1C) vs.
Norway (2A)
8 p.m. / 4 a.m. / 9 a.m. Wellington (NZL)
Sun, Aug. 6 Group E Winner (1E) vs.
Group G Runner-up (2G)
12 p.m. / 10 p.m. (Aug 5) / 3 a.m. Sydney (AUS)
Sun, Aug. 6 Group G Winner (1G) vs.
Group E Runner-up (2E)
 7 p.m. / 5 a.m. / 10 a.m. Melbourne (AUS)
Mon, Aug. 7 Group D Winner (1D) vs.
Nigeria (2B)
5:30 p.m. / 3:30 a.m. / 8:30 a.m. Brisbane (AUS)
Mon, Aug. 7 Australia (1B) vs.
Group D Runner-up (2D)
8:30 p.m. / 6:30 a.m. / 11:30 a.m. Sydney (AUS)
Tue, Aug. 8 Group H Winner (1H) vs.
Group F Runner-up (2F)
6 p.m. / 4 a.m. / 9 a.m. Melbourne (AUS)
Tue, Aug. 8 Group F Winner (1F) vs.
Group H Runner-up (2H)
8:30 p.m. / 7 a.m. / 12 p.m. Adelaide (AUS)

MORE: Women’s World Cup top goal scorers 2023

How does the Round of 16 work in the Women’s World Cup?

The Round of 16 is the start of what is commonly referred to as the knockout rounds because every match is single elimination from here on out.

There are no points earned. There are no standings. There’s simply a winner and a loser. 

The Round of 16 pairings pit group winners against group runners-up.

MORE: Top 10 players at the Women’s World Cup

What happens if knockout matches finish tied?

There has to be a winner on the day for each Round of 16 match and for subsequent knockout-round matches (quarterfinals, semifinals, third-place match, final).

So if teams are tied after 90 minutes of regulation, the match goes into a 30-minute period of extra time. 

If the deadlock persists after those 30 minutes of extra time, then a penalty shootout will determine the team that moves on to the quarterfinals.

MORE: Top 5 potential World Cup breakout stars

How teams advance at World Cup 2023

The 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup is the first edition of the tournament which includes 32 teams from across the world. All 32 qualified teams are divided into eight groups (A through H) and their finish in the group determines their path to the knockout stages.

Group Stage

The top two teams from each group progress into the knockout stage, beginning with the Round of 16.

The group stage consists of typical round-robin group play with each team playing the other three once. Three points are awarded for every win in the group stage, one for a draw, and zero for a loss.

If teams are tied on points, goal difference and then goals scored represent the first tiebreakers.

MORE: Full list of World Cup 2023 group tiebreakers

Knockout Rounds

Beginning with the Round of 16 through to the final, every match is single elimination.

Teams advance from the Round of 16 to the quarterfinals, then to the semifinals, and lastly to the final or third-place match. 

As explained above, if teams are tied at the end of the 90 minutes of regulation, the teams play 30 minutes of extra time followed by a penalty shootout, if necessary.

Source link